Week 4: One for the Books!

Well, this week has been a good one! I am glad that I have a testimony of the gospel because we met a Born-Again Christian who said, “That I will have eternal damnation upon me for reading the Book of Mormon and I need to repent for reading such a horrible book…” There are so many churches that have never read the fullness of the Book of Mormon for themselves. They just hear things about it and it’s horrible!

Well, we had another great member present a lesson with our investigator about the Plan of Salvation and how important it is to follow Jesus Christ’s example to be baptized and follow the teachings in the Book of Mormon. We asked him to be baptized and he said, “I need to come to church a couple more times and learn more…” I am glad I asked that because he was raised a Catholic and went to Catechism (Sunday School) and when he came to church yesterday he asked about the Sacrament prayers and what the meaning of them are. I showed him where to find the prayers in the scriptures and he read them and as he understood what their meaning is and the promises are he was like, “Okay, that makes a lot of sense.” I also drew him the Gospel of Jesus Christ diagram which consists of: faith, repentance, baptism, gift of the holy ghost, and enduring to the end. When I told him that we are constantly in this cycle he asked, “So, do you get baptized more than once?” I replied, “No, that is why we have the Sacrament so we can renew those covenants that we have made.” It really sparked a real interest about baptism and I think he knows the importance of it and I am glad he walked into our life so that we can help him in his own conversion process.

I hope everybody has a great week and I challenge everybody to give a Book of Mormon to a random stranger and smile and wave to everybody because you never know what is happening in their life at that moment.

One comment

Leave a Reply

